Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Adult Non-Fiction - Non-Fiction Sect.796.332 BaconChecked OutMarch 9, 2024

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
viii, 438 pages ; 24 cm.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"The national spotlight never strays from the University of Michigan football team. More people have seen the Wolverines play football--in person and on TV--than any other team in the nation. Michigan boasts the most wins, the best winning percentage, the biggest stadium, the most alumni, the most heated rivalries, and the richest tradition in the game. As their famed fight song proclaims, the Wolverines are "Victors valiant. conqu'ring heroes." Or they were, until 2008. The brilliant but star-crossed Rich Rodriguez led the young Wolverines through three of the program's toughest seasons. With the entire sports world watching, they enjoyed thrilling victories and suffered heartbreaking losses, often falling short in the winner-take-all struggle of big-time college football. Day after day for three years, John U. Bacon watched the drama unfold, from the sidelines to the locker room to the meeting rooms and even the homes of the players and coaches. No sportswriter has ever been granted more intimate access to a top-flight college football program. Now Bacon--an award-winning journalist and coauthor of Bo's Lasting Lessons--has written a narrative saga in the vein of Friday Night Lights and Season on the Brink. His story is one of hopes raised and dashed; of reputations pumped up, then punctured; and of coaches and youngsters striving to satisfy the demands of a culture that values winning above all else"--

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Bacon, J. U. (2011). Three and out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football . Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Bacon, John U., 1964-. 2011. Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football. Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Bacon, John U., 1964-. Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Bacon, John U. Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

MARC Record

Loading Staff View.