Uncultured [large print] : a memoir
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Status
Adult Non-Fiction - Large Print Section
LP 921 Young
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Adult Non-Fiction - Large Print SectionLP 921 YoungOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Large Print
Physical Desc
571 pages ; 23 cm.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"In the vein of Educated and The Glass Castle, Daniella Mestyanek Young's Uncultured is more than a memoir about an exceptional upbringing, but about a woman who, no matter the lack of tools given to her, is determined to overcome. Behind the tall, foreboding gates of a commune in Brazil, Daniella Mestyanek Young was raised in the religious cult The Children of God, also known as The Family, as the daughter of high-ranking members. Her great-grandmother donated land for one of The Family's first communes in Texas. Her mother, at thirteen, was forced to marry the leader and served as his secretary for many years. Beholden to The Family's strict rules, Daniella suffers physical, emotional, and sexual abuse -- masked as godly discipline and divine love -- and is forbidden from getting a traditional education. At fifteen years old, fed up with The Family and determined to build a better and freer life for herself, Daniella escapes to Texas. There, she bravely enrolls herself in high school and excels, later graduating as valedictorian of her college class, then electing to join the military to begin a career as an intelligence officer, where she believes she will finally belong. But she soon learns that her new world -- surrounded by men on the sands of Afghanistan -- looks remarkably similar to the one she desperately tried to leave behind. Told in a beautiful, propulsive voice and with clear-eyed honesty, Uncultured explores the dangers unleashed when harmful group mentality goes unrecognized, and is emblematic of the many ways women have to contort themselves to survive"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Young, D. M., & Larsen, B. (2023). Uncultured [large print]: a memoir (Large print edition.). Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Young, Daniella Mestyanek and Brandi, Larsen. 2023. Uncultured [large Print]: A Memoir. Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Young, Daniella Mestyanek and Brandi, Larsen. Uncultured [large Print]: A Memoir Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Young, Daniella Mestyanek,, and Brandi Larsen. Uncultured [large Print]: A Memoir Large print edition., Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

MARC Record

Loading Staff View.